Applicant FAQ

YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THE APPLICATION?
HERE ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT ANSWERS.

I lack some experience. Can I still apply?

Of course – no risk, no fun! We really already have concrete ideas about how a role has to be filled in our company. But that is also exactly the advantage: hardly anyone out there brings everything that is needed with us right off the bat. That’s why we’ve geared ourselves and our onboarding to help you grow into a role.

Basically, your attitude and potential are more important to us than your specific professional experience. But of course, we may have to weigh up how much effort it takes to get you ready for the role in question and whether we can afford that right now. Therefore, please apply first if you are interested – then we will see together what is possible.

Which application documents should I submit?

In our JobShop, you can use Quick-Checkout to very quickly submit an application with just a link to a LinkedIn or Xing profile of yours. But of course, if we learn a little more, it increases the chance that we will be curious about you 🙂

And it’s actually quite simple: feel free to send us anything that helps us gain an initial picture of who you are, what makes you tick. But above all: Why do you want to work with us? What do you want to do? What do you hope to get out of the job and what do you already bring to the table?

We are especially pleased when we can tell from a cover letter that someone is not simply looking for a job in e-commerce, but that they explicitly want to be a shopmaker because they find something particularly appealing that they have heard or read about us. We don’t find testimonials and certificates that exciting in the first step. We first want to learn about you as a person, we want to get an impression if we can make you happy. And whether you can make us happy.

How does a get-to-know-you interview work?

Like a blind date: everything can, nothing must. We do not have a fixed grid for getting to know each other for the first time. We decide quite spontaneously who will talk to you. There are no standard questions and no hierarchy. We just look at what interests us about you. There is also no one asking or judging in the conversation. We have a conversation at eye level, tell about each other, get to know each other and see if it “sparks”.

A little tip if you want to prepare yourself: Think about what questions you have for us, what wishes you have, what drives you, rather than what answers you could give us. Just like on a blind date.

And of course there is no dress code and no recommendation. Except maybe this one: Dress authentically – just the way you are.

What happens after the interview in the application process?

If, after getting to know each other, both of us have the feeling that this could be something with us, then we arrange a trial day, on which we “get to know” each other better.

For you, it’s all about experiencing the team and our work environment on any given workday and getting a feel for whether you want to make things happen in that environment every day. For us, it’s about experiencing you for a little longer and in a slightly more relaxed environment than a blind date.

On the taster day, you will sit in the middle of the team breakfast first thing in the morning and experience our team dynamics in an authentic way. Then we’ll show you around our campus office, introduce you to the teams, and then you’ll get some tasks that are typical of the job we’re talking about. This way, you get a feel for what tasks actually come up for us and we get a feel for how you approach such tasks. The whole process takes about 2-3 hours.

At the end we briefly discuss our common impressions of the day and then go apart for the time being. As a rule, we will then tell you within a few days whether and in which role we would like to have you join the team.

How do we get an employment contract?

Only when we both know that we would like to try it together, then we draw up a contract. We have deliberately formulated our employment contract in such a way that you, even as a layperson and without much professional experience, can directly understand what it says – without having to ask a lawyer.

We offer a lot of leeway for the individual organization of your working and vacation times. And you can also adjust that every year to fit your life situation. However, to make things comparable and fair, we always discuss our contracts and salaries on the basis of 40 hours of work per week and 26 days of annual vacation. Then, if you have other ideas, we’ll make a short contract amendment and adjust the salary accordingly.

Your weekly work hours can be shifted in either direction in 4-hour increments (currently, the spectrum ranges from 12-40 hours per week, with many having 36 hours per week and thus Fridays off). Your annual leave may vary between 20 and 32 days. As mentioned: always with appropriate salary adjustment and you can readjust that every year for the next 12 months.

We negotiate your salary individually. It fluctuates with your experience and the responsibility that will come with it when you’re full time. How much our onboarding effort will be until you are fully self-sufficient in the role you are aiming for will also play a role.

And we absolutely have salary bands for different roles. Compliance with them is important to us, so that things are fair for everyone.

What is the onboarding process?

We also like ambitious lateral entrants and have thus established our very own methods and processes, which can only be compared with those of other agencies to a limited extent. That’s why structured onboarding is very important to us.

Practically all new colleagues start their work at Shopmachern in the support team. They call themselves “Call of Duty” :). Depending on experience, comprehension and project situation, this support onboarding takes 4-8 weeks. Our support team is practically the on-call service for all our customers. It’s like the emergency room in a hospital: if you need help quickly, you go to Support, where you receive initial care. That’s why this team is so well suited for onboarding. You will quickly get to know all customers, technologies, processes and teams in “real life”. And you can actively participate from day 1. Because the requests usually come via the ticket system and you can simply decide directly whether you can and want to process a ticket yourself or whether you want to pass it on to an experienced colleague. When it’s quieter, the colleagues there will explain our systems to you.

After the support onboarding, you will go directly to your 1st team, where you will be integrated into the team processes of the Scrum teams. In your team, you will be assigned a mentor for the initial period, with whom you will then also carry out your skills evaluation if necessary (we currently have this for Project Managers and Developers).

Finally, the skills evaluation is also the launch pad for your development discussions, in which we discuss your development potential and prospects with you once a year. When you do it this way, it’s simple: where your skills have room to grow, we figure out together what needs to be done to move you forward; and we hatch a plan for how you can go about it. New every year.

Your first development interview will be exactly one year after the end of your probationary period. Until then, you will conduct regular Catch Ups at increasing intervals with your sponsor and your team’s coach. Weekly at first, maybe quarterly later. But that varies with individual meeting needs and, of course, your growing experience.

During your probationary period – i.e. the first 6 months – there will definitely be a “Pit Stop” after about 3 months and the ceremonial handover of the Shopmacher Established shirt at the end of the probationary period. And then it actually runs by itself …

What's the best way to get to you?
  • Public transport: Are you traveling by public transport? The bus stop “Ehemaliger Bahnhof” in Gescher is only 250 meters away from our office
  • Bicycle: Probably the most beautiful option (if the weather cooperates 😉 ). In front of our office you will find numerous bike racks that you can use.
  • Car: If you arrive by car, you can best use the parking facilities to the left of our building
    Do you have a question but you can't find the answer here?

    Feel free to contact Claudia or Lea via email at bewerben@shopmacher.de or simply call us on 02542/87030

    Prefer to ask your questions in person ?

    No problem, just give us a call. Lea and Claudia always have an open ear.

    Phone +49 2542 87030

    E-Mail: bewerben@shopmacher.de

    Employee Lea
    Employee picture Claudia
    Cookie Consent Banner by Real Cookie Banner

Bewerber-FAQ

DU HAST FRAGEN ZUR BEWERBUNG?
HIER DIE WICHTIGSTEN ANTWORTEN. 

Mir fehlen einige Erfahrungen. Kann ich mich trotzdem bewerben?

Na klar – no risk, no fun! Wir haben zwar wirklich schon konkrete Vorstellungen, wie eine Rolle bei uns ausgefüllt werden muss. Aber das ist auch genau der Vorteil: kaum jemand da draußen bringt aus dem Stand alles mit, was bei uns gebraucht wird. Deswegen haben wir uns und unser Onboarding darauf eingestellt, dass du in eine Rolle hineinwachsen kannst. 

Grundsätzlich ist uns deine Haltung und dein Potenzial wichtiger als deine konkrete Berufserfahrung. Aber ggf. müssen wir natürlich abwägen, mit welchem Aufwand wir es schaffen, dich für die jeweilige Rolle ready zu machen und ob wir das gerade leisten können. Deswegen gilt: Gerne erst mal bewerben, wenn du Bock hast – dann schauen wir gemeinsam, was geht.    

Welche Bewerbungsunterlagen soll ich einreichen?

In unserem JobShop kannst du per Quick-Checkout sehr schnell eine Bewerbung nur mit einem Link auf ein LinkedIn- oder Xing-Profil von dir abschicken. Aber wenn wir etwas mehr erfahren, erhöht das natürlich die Chance, dass wir neugierig auf dich werden 🙂

Und es ist eigentlich ganz einfach: Schick uns gerne alles, was uns hilft, ein erstes Bild zu gewinnen, wer du bist, was dich ausmacht. Vor allem aber: Warum möchtest du bei uns mitarbeiten? Was möchtest du tun? Was erhoffst du dir von dem Job und was bringst du schon mit?

Wir freuen uns vor allem, wenn wir an einem Anschreiben erkennen können, dass jemand nicht einfach nur einen Job im E-Commerce sucht, sondern dass er explizit ein Shopmacher sein möchte, weil er irgendwas besonders reizvoll findet, was er über uns gehört oder gelesen hat. Zeugnisse und Zertifikate finden wir im 1. Schritt gar nicht sooo spannend. Wir wollen erst mal etwas über dich als Menschen erfahren, wir wollen einen Eindruck bekommen, ob wir dich happy machen können. Und ob du uns happy machen kannst. 

Wie läuft ein Kennenlerngespräch ab?

Wie ein Blind Date: alles kann, nix muss. Wir haben kein festes Raster für ein erstes Kennenlernen. Wir entscheiden recht spontan, wer mit dir spricht. Es gibt keine Standardfragen und auch keine Hierarchie. Wir schauen halt, was uns an dir interessiert. Es gibt im Gespräch auch niemanden, der bittet oder urteilt. Wir führen ein Gespräch auf Augenhöhe, erzählen voneinander, lernen uns kennen und schauen, ob es “funkt”.   

Kleiner Tipp, wenn du dich vorbereiten möchtest: Überleg dir lieber, welche Fragen du an uns hast, welche Wünsche du hast, was dich antreibt, als welche Antworten du uns geben könntest. Wie beim Blind Date halt.  

Und natürlich gibt es keinen Dresscode und auch keine Empfehlung. Außer vielleicht diese: Zieh dich authentisch an – so wie du eben bist.

Wie geht es nach dem Kennlerngespräch im Bewerbungsprozess weiter?

Wenn nach einem ersten Kennenlernen beide das Gefühl haben, das könnte was werden mit uns, dann verabreden wir einen Schnuppertag, an dem wir uns eben gegenseitig näher “beschnuppern”.

Für dich geht es dabei vor allem darum, das Team und unser Betriebsklima an einem beliebigen Arbeitstag zu erleben und ein Gefühl zu entwickeln, ob du in diesem Umfeld jeden Tag Dinge bewegen möchtest. Für uns geht es darum, dich etwas länger und in einem etwas entspannteren Umfeld zu erleben als bei einem Blind Date. 

Am Schnuppertag sitzt du morgens als erstes mitten im Team-Frühstück und erlebst ganz authentisch unsere Teamdynamik. Dann zeigen wir dir unser Campus-Office, stellen die Teams vor, und dann bekommst du ein paar Aufgaben, die typisch für den Job sind, über den wir gerade sprechen. So bekommst du ein Gefühl, welche Aufgaben bei uns tatsächlich anfallen und wir bekommen ein Gefühl, wie du solchen Aufgaben begegnest. Das Ganze dauert etwa 2-3 Stunden. 

Zum Abschluss besprechen wir kurz unsere gemeinsamen Eindrücke von dem Tag und gehen dann erst mal auseinander. In der Regel werden wir dir dann binnen weniger Tage sagen, ob und in welcher Rolle wir dich gerne ins Team holen möchten.  

Wie kommen wir zu einem Arbeitsvertrag?

Erst wenn wir beide wissen, dass wir es gerne miteinander versuchen möchten, dann setzen wir einen Vertrag auf. Wir haben unseren Arbeitsvertrag bewusst so formuliert, dass du auch als Laie und ohne große Berufserfahrung direkt verstehen kannst, was da drin steht – ohne einen Juristen fragen zu müssen. 

Wir bieten sehr großen Spielraum für die individuelle Gestaltung deiner Arbeits- und Urlaubszeiten. Und du kannst das auch jedes Jahr neu an deine Lebenssituation anpassen. Damit es aber vergleichbar und fair ist, besprechen wir unsere Verträge und Gehälter immer auf Basis von 40h Arbeitszeit pro Woche und 26 Tagen Jahresurlaub. Wenn du dann andere Vorstellungen hast, machen wir eine kurze Vertragsergänzung und passen das Gehalt entsprechend an. 

Deine Wochenarbeitszeit kann im 4-Stunden-Takt in beide Richtungen verschoben werden (derzeit reicht das Spektrum von 12-40 Wochenstunden, viele haben 36 Wochenstunden und damit freitags frei). Dein Jahresurlaub kann zwischen 20 und 32 Tagen schwanken. Wie erwähnt: immer bei entsprechender Anpassung des Gehalts und du kannst das jedes Jahr für die nächsten 12 Monate neu justieren.

Dein Gehalt bei uns verhandeln wir individuell. Es schwankt mit deiner Erfahrung und der Verantwortung, die damit einhergehen wird, wenn du voll dabei bist. Wie hoch unser Onboarding-Aufwand sein wird, bis du vollständig selbstständig die angestrebte Rolle ausfüllen kannst, spielt dabei auch eine Rolle. 

Und wir haben durchaus Gehaltsbänder für unterschiedliche Rollen. Deren Einhaltung ist uns wichtig, damit es für alle fair zugeht.     

Wie läuft das Onboarding ab?

Wir stehen ja auch auf ambitionierte Quereinsteiger und haben so unsere ganz eigenen Methoden und Abläufe etabliert, die mit denen anderer Agenturen nur begrenzt vergleichbar sind. Deswegen ist uns ein strukturiertes Onboarding sehr wichtig.

Praktisch alle neuen Kollegen starten ihre Arbeit bei den Shopmachern im Support Team. Sie nennen sich selbst “Call of Duty” :). Je nach Erfahrung, Auffassungsgabe und Projektsituation dauert dieses Support-Onboarding 4-8 Wochen. Unsere Support-Truppe ist praktisch die Rufbereitschaft für alle unsere Kunden. Etwa wie die Notfall-Ambulanz in einem Krankenhaus: Wer schnell Hilfe braucht, landet im Support und wird dort erstversorgt. Deswegen ist dieses Team fürs Onboarding so gut geeignet. Du lernst dort schnell alle Kunden, Technologien, Prozesse und Teams im “real life” kennen. Und du kannst von Tag 1 aktiv mitarbeiten. Denn die Anfragen kommen idR per Ticketsystem und du kannst einfach direkt entscheiden, ob du ein Ticket selbst bearbeiten kannst und willst oder ob du es an einen erfahrenen Kollegen weitergibst. Wenn es mal ruhiger ist, erklären dir die Kollegen dort eben unsere Systeme.

Nach dem Support-Onboarding geht es dann direkt in dein 1. Team, wo du in die Team-Abläufe der Scrum Teams eingebunden wirst. In deinem Team wird dir für die Anfangszeit ein Pate zur Seite gestellt, mit dem du dann ggf. auch deine Skill-Evaluation vornimmst (haben wir derzeit für Project Manager und Entwickler).

Die Skill-Evaluation ist schließlich auch die Startrampe für deine Entwicklungsgespräche, in denen wir einmal jährlich deine Entwicklungspotenziale und Perspektiven mit dir besprechen. Wenn man es so macht, ist es ja ganz einfach: Da, wo deine Skills noch Luft nach oben haben, überlegen wir gemeinsam, was zu tun ist, damit du vorankommst; und wir hecken einen Plan aus, wie du es angehen kannst. Jedes Jahr neu.

Dein erstes Entwicklungsgespräch werden wir genau ein Jahr nach dem Ende deiner Probezeit führen. Bis dahin führst du mit deinem Paten und dem Team Coach deines Teams regelmäßige Catch Ups in größer werdenden Abständen durch. Am Anfang wöchentlich, später vielleicht quartalsweise. Aber das schwankt mit dem individuellen Besprechungsbedarf und natürlich auch deiner wachsenden Erfahrung.

In deiner Probezeit – also in den ersten 6 Monaten – ist auf jeden Fall ein “Pit Stop” nach etwa 3 Monaten vorgesehen und die feierliche Übergabe des Shopmacher-Established-Shirts zum Ende der Probezeit. Und dann läuft es eigentlich von allein …

Wie komme ich am besten zu euch?
  • Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel: Du reist mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel an? Die Bushaltestelle „Ehemaliger Bahnhof“ in Gescher ist nur 250 Meter von unserem Office entfernt
  • Fahrrad: Die wohl schönste Möglichkeit (Wenn das Wetter mitspielt 😉). Vor unserem Office findest du zahlreiche Fahrradständer, die du nutzen kannst.
  • Auto: Wenn du mit dem Auto anreist, kannst du am besten die Parkmöglichkeiten links neben unserem Gebäude nutzen
    Du hast eine Frage, aber du findest hier keine Antworten?

    Wende dich gerne an Claudia oder Lea per E-Mail an bewerben@shopmacher.de oder rufe uns einfach an unter 02542/87030

    Du möchtest deine Fragen lieber persönlich stellen?

    Kein Problem, rufe uns einfach an. Lea und Claudia haben immer ein offenes Ohr.

    Fon +49 2542 87030

    E-Mail: bewerben@shopmacher.de

    Mitarbeiterin Lea
    Mitarbeiterbild Claudia
    Cookie Consent Banner von Real Cookie Banner