Schaffrath

case study

January 08, 2019

Step by step from online showroom to online furniture shop

Friedhelm Schaffrath GmbH & Co. KG has successfully taken the next step into the online furniture trade. In the summer of 2018, the Rhenish furniture store opened a real online shop with a transaction-oriented e-commerce platform after two years of online presence in a showroom format.

OXID

shop system

founded

Employees (2017)

Turnover (2017)

about furniture schaffrath

The name Schaffrath is closely linked to the city of Mönchengladbach Рbecause 60 years ago Friedhelm Schaffrath opened his first store Рa lamp and lighting shop. Today, Schaffrath is number 1 in the Rhineland, one of the top ten furniture stores nationwide and a member of the Begros furniture purchasing association. Due to the diverse range and excellent quality, the furniture stores, kitchen mega stores and kitchen markets are now known far beyond the borders. Customers from neighboring countries are also among the regular customers of the furniture retailer. Year after year, Schaffrath invests several million euros in conversions and new buildings in order to continue to be the undisputed market leader on the Lower Rhine. In a nationwide comparison of furnishing giants, the Rhinelanders have been able to hold their own in the top ten for years.

Schaffrath Managing Director Marc Fahrig

challenge

Even a top dog in the stationary furniture trade is not left untouched by the effects of increasing online consumption. In order to increase presence in the store, Schaffrath looked online for new ways to reach its target groups and motivate them to visit the furniture store.

implementation

In the summer of 2016, the company launched an online showroom in order to be visible on the web via search engines such as Google. “We wanted to gain experience, set up digitally compatible processes, keep learning and increase the number of visitors to our furniture stores,” says Schaffrath Managing Director Marc Fahrig. “We succeeded in pushing the frequencies.”

The functions have been continuously optimized over a period of two years. The loading times were accelerated by 50 percent and new functions were tested. These include:

  • POnline kitchen planner
  • POnline store locator
  • Pnewsletter tool
  • PConnection to eBay, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube
  • POnline application for the Schaffrath family card
  • PLiving and themed worlds
  • PCooking and Grilling Academy
  • POnline consultation appointment
  • PIntegration of product videos
  • POnline inquiry about products
  • POptimization of category filters, product lists and product detail pages

The next logical step will follow in June 2018. Schaffrath entered furniture e-commerce with an online shop with a shopping cart, checkout, payment and order processing for a selected range of take-away items that could be shipped without a freight forwarder.

SHOPMACHER also developed an online showroom for the Knuffmann chain, which has belonged to Schaffrath since 2003, on the same technical basis. Here, too, customers can obtain information online and query the availability of their favorite furniture in the Knuffmann branches.

The platform was designed and developed as part of a monthly updated product backlog, which was implemented in sprints with secured developer resources from SHOPMACHER, and the continuous expansion was driven forward. It was important that the Schaffrath employees could make changes to the shop front end themselves and did not have to consult the agency every time. This applies not only to images and texts, but also to many other areas such as campaigns or sales promotion measures.

In the further development of the shop, retailers and agency are strongly data-driven. The following key figures are constantly analyzed:

  • Which pages are interesting?
  • Where do visitors disembark?
  • Where are purchases canceled?
  • Does the search work?
  • Are there stumbling blocks in the checkout?
  • Do item detail pages lead to purchase or abandonment?

Result

 

With the launch of the sales function, Schaffrath increased the number of unique visitors in the shop by 25 percent. The conversion rate increased by 25 percent monthly after the shop was launched. Sales increased very significantly.

CHARACTERISTICS

Customer:

Friedhelm Schaffrath GmbH & Co. KG

Result:

B2C online shop and showroom for furniture

GoLive:

2016

Performance modules:

  • Consulting system architecture
  • Technical conception & requirements management
  • Implementation front and backend
  • Technical support since launch

Technologies:

  • Shop system: Oxid 6 Enterprise Edition
  • Search: Elastic Search
  • Editor: CommerceCockpit
  • Media management: meleven
  • Middleware: Roqqio

Highlights:

  • Selected assortment
  • Entry via showroom
  • Click & Collect
Cookie Consent Banner by Real Cookie Banner

Schaffrath

Case Study

08. Januar 2019

Schritt für Schritt vom Online-Showroom zum Online-Möbel-Shop

Die Friedhelm Schaffrath GmbH & Co. KG hat erfolgreich den nächsten Schritt in den Online-Möbelhandel getan. Das rheinische Möbelhaus hat im Sommer 2018 nach zweijähriger Online-Präsenz im Showroom-Format mit einer transaktionsorientierten eCommerce-Plattform einen waschechten Onlineshop eröffnet.

OXID

Shopsystem

gegründet

Mitarbeiter (2017)

Umsatz (Stand 2017)

über möbel schaffrath

Der Name Schaffrath ist eng mit der Stadt Mönchengladbach verbunden – denn vor 60 Jahren eröffnete Friedhelm Schaffrath sein erstes Haus – ein Lampen- und Leuchtengeschäft. Heute ist Schaffrath die Nummer 1 im Rheinland, zählt zu den Top-Ten der Einrichtungshäuser bundesweit und Mitglied des Möbeleinkaufsverbands Begros. Durch das vielfältige Angebot und die ausgezeichnete Qualität sind die Möbelhäuser, Küchen Mega Stores und Küchenmärkte inzwischen weit über die Grenzen hinaus bekannt. Auch Kunden aus den Nachbarländern zählen zu den Stammkunden des Möbelhändlers. Jahr für Jahr investiert Schaffrath mehrere Millionen Euro in Um- und Neubauten, um auch weiterhin der unangefochtene Marktführer am Niederrhein zu sein. Im bundesweiten Vergleich von Einrichtungsgiganten können sich die Rheinländer seit Jahren in den Top Ten behaupten.

Schaffrath-Geschäftsführer Marc Fahrig

Herauforderung

Auch an einem Platzhirsch im stationären Möbelhandel gehen die Auswirkungen des steigenden Online-Konsums nicht spurlos vorbei. Um die Frequenz auf der Fläche zu steigern, suchte Schaffrath online nach neuen Wegen, seine Zielgruppen zu erreichen und zum Besuch im Möbelhaus zu motivieren.

Umsetzung

Bereits im Sommer 2016 startete das Unternehmen einen Showroom im Internet, um über Suchmaschinen wie Google im Web sichtbar zu sein. „Wir wollten Erfahrungen sammeln, digital kompatible Prozesse aufbauen, stetig dazulernen und die Besucherzahlen in unseren Einrichtungshäusern steigern“, sagt Schaffrath-Geschäftsführer Marc Fahrig. „Der Frequenzpush ist uns gelungen.“

In einem Zeitraum von zwei Jahren wurden die Funktionen kontinuierlich optimiert. Die Ladezeiten wurden um 50 Prozent beschleunigt und neue Funktionen getestet. Dazu zählen:

  • POnline-Küchenplaner
  • POnline-Filialfinder
  • PNewsletter-Tool
  • PAnbindung an eBay, Facebook, Instagram und YouTube
  • POnline-Antrag für die Schaffrath-Familienkarte
  • PWohn- und Themenwelten
  • PKoch- und Grillakademie
  • POnline-Beratungsterminvereinbarung
  • PIntegration von Produktvideos
  • POnline-Rückfrage zu Produkten
  • POptimierung von Kategoriefiltern, Produktlisten und Produkt-Detailseiten

Im Juni 2018 folge der nächste logische Schritt. Schaffrath stieg mit einem Online-Shop mit Warenkorb, Checkout, Payment und Orderverarbeitung für ein ausgewähltes Sortiment von Mitnahmeartikeln, die ohne Spedition verschickt werden konnten, in den Möbel-E-Commerce ein.

Auch für die Knuffmann-Kette, die seit 2003 zu Schaffrath gehört, entwickelte SHOPMACHER auf derselben technischen Grundlage einen Online-Showroom. Auch hier können sich die Kunden online informieren und die Verfügbarkeiten ihrer Lieblingsmöbel in den Knuffmann-Filialen abfragen.

Im Rahmen eines monatlich aktualisierten Produkt-Backlogs, das mit gesicherten Entwickler-Ressourcen von SHOPMACHER in Sprints umgesetzt wurde, wurde die Plattform konzipiert und entwickelt und der kontinuierliche Ausbau vorangetrieben. Wichtig dabei war, dass die Schaffrath-Mitarbeiter selbst Änderungen am Shop-Frontend durchführen konnten und nicht jedesmal die Agentur konsultieren müssen. Das betrifft nicht nur Bilder und Texte, sondern auch viele andere Bereiche wie Kampagnen oder Maßnahmen zur Absatzförderung. 

Bei der Weiterentwicklung des Shops gehen Händler und Agentur stark datengetrieben vor. Dabei werden folgende Kennzahlen permanent analysiert:

  • Welche Seiten sind interessant?
  • Wo steigen Besucher aus?
  • Wo werden Käufe abgebrochen?
  • Funktioniert die Suche?
  • Gibt es Stolpersteine im Checkout?
  • Führen Artikeldetailseiten zum Kauf oder zum Abbruch?

ergebnis

 

Durch den Launch der Verkaufsfunktion steigerte Schaffrath den Anstieg der Unique Visitors im Shop um 25 Prozent. Die Konversationsrate legte nach dem Start des Shops monatlich um 25 Prozent zu. Der Umsatz stieg sehr deutlich. 

STECKBRIEF

Kunde:

Friedhelm Schaffrath GmbH & Co. KG

Ergebnis:

B2C Online-Shop und Showroom für Möbel

Web:

schaffrath.com
knuffmann.de

GoLive:

2016

Leistungs-Bausteine:

  • Beratung Systemarchitektur
  • Technische Konzeption & Anforderungsmanagement
  • Umsetzung Front- und Backend
  • Technischer Support seit Launch

Technologien:

  • Shopsystem: Oxid 6 Enterprise Edition
  • Suche: Elastic Search
  • Redaktion: CommerceCockpit
  • Medienmanagement: meleven
  • Middleware: Roqqio

Highlights:

  • Ausgewähltes Sortiment
  • Einstieg per Showroom
  • Click & Collect
× Jetzt chatten!