ter Hürne

case study

February 25, 2020

How an online flagship store serves retail partners and end customers at the same time

For more than 60 years, the name ter Hürne in Südlohn in the idyllic Münsterland near the Dutch border has stood for a family business with a long tradition in wood. Today, the name ter Hürne is synonymous with fascinating, high-quality floor, wall and ceiling products. In a Westphalian cooperation, the Shopmacher, specialists in the digitization of B2B sales structures based in Gescher, will support and advise ter Hürne on the transformation of sales channels, in particular to professional buyers.

Shopware

shop system

founded

employees

Turnover (2019)

About the Hürne

In 1959, the carpenter Otger ter Hürne founded his craft business in Südlohn in Münsterland, near the Dutch border. To begin with, he and his small team made door frames. Over the decades, more and more products for the living area were added, above all panels for walls and ceilings as well as solid wood parquet. ter Hürne is now one of the leading manufacturers in the design, production and sale of floors made of wood and other materials. The company now employs around 250 people.

Challenge

When ter Hürne began to significantly digitize its sales processes, the company quickly came to the conclusion that there were massive weaknesses when it came to product information. Because the old online presence was also difficult to maintain, the management made a decision: they wanted to build an e-commerce platform that would act as the central channel of a digital ecosystem and advance the digitization of marketing and sales processes. B2B trading partners and B2C end customers should be served equally well with digital content and services. The presence is intended to support trading partners in obtaining information by providing media assets such as product images, descriptions or technical data sheets. And B2C end customers should be optimally served along their customer journey and should be able to obtain comprehensive information about the brand in their roles as builder, renovator, do-it-yourselfer or craftsman.

implementation

Even if no e-commerce functionalities were initially planned for the platform, ter Hürne decided on Shopware 6 Professional Edition for the relaunch with a view to the future. Within six months, a platform was implemented that currently presents around 900 articles in over 11 product lines, which in turn are divided into further categories. Retail partners and customers can find out more about the manufacturer’s product range via interactive and exciting features such as the floor finder, the room studio or new themed worlds. However, if a customer wants to buy a floor covering, he is forwarded to specialist dealers in his area.

One challenge in implementing the platform was the different variants and parameters of the individual floor coverings. For example, the design vinyl floors vary in the same decor in some series not only in different lengths, widths and thicknesses, but also in a different type of material structure. Visualizing this clearly for the user was a challenge in UX design.

Result

“With our Internet platform, we are creating a central channel through which we can offer new digital content and services,” said Kay Skowronnek, marketing manager at ter Hürne, in praise of the project’s outcome. “The aim is to offer consumers a consistent experience along the customer journey. The same applies to our distribution partners.”

In the current year, the B2B portal for trading partners will be widely used. ter Hürne then offers all dealer-relevant processes digitally. Partners of the company can, for example, place orders online or use the picture service. Further functions and services as well as expansion into export markets are planned.

CHARACTERISTICS

Customer:

ter Hürne GmbH & Co. KG

Result:

B2B showroom for high-quality floors

GoLive:

2020

Performance modules:

  • Consulting system architecture
  • Technical conception & requirements management
  • UX and design conception
  • Implementation front and backend
  • International roll out
  • Technical support since launch

Technologies:

  • Shop system: Shopware 6 Professional
  • ERP: AS400
  • PIM: PIM9
  • CRM: Salesforce
  • Media management: meleven

Highlight:

floor finder
space studio

Languages:

German
Chinese

Markets:

German
Chinese
× Jetzt chatten!

ter Hürne

Case Study

25. Februar 2020

Wie ein Online-Flagship-Store Handelspartner und Endkunden gleichzeitig bedient

Seit mehr als 60 Jahren steht der Name ter Hürne in Südlohn im idyllischen Münsterland nahe der niederländischen Grenze für einen Familienbetrieb mit einer langen Holz-Tradition. Der Name ter Hürne ist heute Synonym für faszinierende, hochwertige Boden- sowie Wand- und Decken-Produkte. In einer westfälischen Kooperation werden die Shopmacher, Spezialisten für die Digitalisierung von B2B-Vertriebsstrukturen mit Sitz in Gescher, ter Hürne bei der Transformation der Vertriebswege insbesondere an professionelle Einkäufer begleiten und beraten.

Shopware

Shopsystem

gegründet

Mitarbeiter

Umsatz (Stand 2019)

Über ter Hürne

Im Jahr 1959 gründete der Tischler Otger ter Hürne in Südlohn im Münsterland, nahe der holländischen Grenze, seinen Handwerksbetrieb. Zu Beginn stellten er und seine kleine Mannschaft Türfutter her. Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte kamen immer mehr Produkte für den Wohnbereich hinzu, allen voran Paneele für Wand & Decke sowie Vollholzparkett. Inzwischen zählt ter Hürne zu den führenden Herstellern im Design, in der Produktion und dem Vertrieb von Böden aus Holz und anderen Werkstoffen. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt inzwischen rund 250 Mitarbeiter.

Herausforderung

Als ter Hürne begann, seine Vertriebsprozesse maßgeblich zu digitalisieren, kam das Unternehmen schnell zu der Feststellung: In Sachen Produktinformationen gibt es massive Schwachstellen. Weil gleichzeitig auch der alte Online-Auftritt nur noch schwer zu pflegen war, fasste das Management eine Entscheidung: Man wollte eine E-Commerce-Plattform bauen, die als zentraler Kanal eines digitalen Ökosystems fungiert und die Digitalisierung von Marketing- und Vertriebsprozessen vorantreibt. Mit digitalen Inhalten und Services sollen B2B-Handelspartner und B2C-Endkunden gleichermaßen gut bedient werden. Handelspartnern soll der Auftritt bei der Informationsgewinnung durch die Bereitstellung von Media-Assets wie Produktbildern, Beschreibungen oder technischen Datenblättern unterstützen. Und B2C-Endkunden sollen entlang ihrer Customer Journey optimal bedient werden und sich in ihren Rollen als Bauherr, Renovierer sowie Heim- oder Handwerker umfassend über die Marke informieren können.

Umsetzung

Auch wenn für die Plattform zunächst keine E-Commerce-Funktionalitäten vorgesehen waren, entschied sich ter Hürne beim Relaunch mit Blick auf die Zukunft für Shopware 6 Professional Edition. Innerhalb von sechs Monaten wurde eine Plattform umgesetzt, die aktuell rund 900 Artikel in über 11 Produktlinien vorstellt, welche wiederum in weitere Kategorien unterteilt werden. Handelspartner und Kunden können sich über interaktive und Erlebnis-stiftende Features wie den Bodenfinder, das Raumstudio oder immer wieder neue Themenwelten umfassend über das Sortiment des Herstellers  informieren. Will ein Kunde einen Bodenbelag allerdings kaufen, wird er zu Fachhändlern in seiner Nähe weitergeleitet.

Eine Herausforderung bei der Umsetzung der Plattform waren die verschiedenen Varianten und Parameter der einzelnen Bodenbeläge. So variiert bei den Design-Vinylböden beispielsweise das gleiche Dekor in einigen Serien nicht nur in verschiedenen Längen, Breiten und Stärken, sondern auch in einem unterschiedlich gearteten Materialaufbau. Dies dem Nutzer deutlich zu visualisieren, war eine Herausforderung im UX-Design.

ergebnis

„Mit unserer Internet-Plattform schaffen wir einen zentralen Kanal, über den wir neue digitale Inhalte und Services anbieten“, lobt ter-Hürne-Marketingleiter Kay Skowronnek das Ergebnis des Projekts. „Ziel ist es, den Verbrauchern entlang der Customer Journey ein durchgängiges Erlebnis zu bieten. Das Gleiche gilt für unsere Vertriebspartner.“

Im laufenden Jahr wird das B2B-Portal für Handelspartner in die breite Anwendung gehen. Sämtliche händlerrelevanten Prozesse bietet ter Hürne dann durchgängig digital an. Partner des Unternehmen können beispielsweise Bestellungen online aufgeben oder den Bilderservice in Anspruch nehmen. Weitere Funktionen und Services sowie die Expansion in Exportmärkte sind in Planung.

STECKBRIEF

Kunde:

ter Hürne GmbH & Co. KG

Ergebnis:

B2B Showroom für hochwertige Böden

Web:

terhuerne.com
terhuernechina.com

GoLive:

2020

Leistungs-Bausteine:

  • Beratung Systemarchitektur
  • Technische Konzeption & Anforderungsmanagement
  • UX- und Design-Konzeption
  • Umsetzung Front- und Backend
  • Internationaler Rollout
  • Technischer Support seit Launch

Technologien:

  • Shopsystem: Shopware 6 Professional
  • ERP: AS 400
  • PIM: PIM9
  • CRM: Salesforce
  • Medienmanagement: meleven

Highlights:

Boden-Finder
Raumstudio

Sprachen:

Deutsch
Chinesisch

Märkte:

Deutsch
Chinesisch
× Jetzt chatten!