gamescom

case study

February 03, 2020

How to translate the real gamescom festival experience into a digital experience

When it comes to frontend design and digital user experiences, gaming fans are perhaps the most demanding target group. The world’s largest computer games fair, gamescom, relies on the experts from Frontastic, GraphCMS and SHOPMACHER to design its digital content hub gamescom now.
Frontastic

platform

GraphCMS

CMS

founded

visitors

Source: Koelnmesse / gamescom 2021

About gamescom

As the central platform for the European computer and video game industry and the world’s largest event for interactive entertainment, gamescom brings industry, retail and the media together every year. gamescom is organized by the association of the German games industry, “game”, and Koelnmesse.

Challenge

Due to the Corona crisis, gamescom has only been able to take place digitally since 2020. For 2021, the organizers decided to completely redesign the gamescom now digital platform.

implementation

gamescom is not an ordinary business fair, but a festival where hundreds of thousands of people make a pilgrimage to the fair and through Cologne in non-Corona times. gamescom wanted to transfer this experience to the internet. The SHOPMACHER were brought on board for the concept, design and implementation, and ultimately took over full responsibility for the project. The technical basis was formed by the headless systems from graphCMS and Frontastic.

The team benefited from the fact that many SHOPMACHER employees are gamers themselves in their free time. This enabled them to easily put themselves in the shoes of potential gamescom fans and take their needs into account. The result is a platform whose design is based on typical gaming platforms, which, in addition to live streams, also provides a good overview of the games and meets the high visual and conceptual standards of the gaming community.

The users themselves should also be encouraged to interact more digitally through gamification elements. For this purpose “gamescom EPIX” was created. Visitors could complete so-called quests as part of community challenges that were developed together with a social media agency. If these were done, a vault with prizes was opened.

An important requirement of the organizers was also to give the many partners represented on the platform, which also included around 60 major international publishers and developers, the opportunity to maintain their content independently in the run-up to the event. Of course, they were not allowed to get any insight into the preparations of their competitors, since top secret information about new releases was also entered here. For the SHOPMACHER, this was their own “quest” because graphCMS – like all other CMS systems – was originally designed for use within a company in which all employees can also see everything.

Another challenge was to ensure that the platform could withstand the onslaught of visitors. Because gamescom is traditionally opened the evening before with “gamescom: Opening Night Live”, which is broadcast to an audience of millions worldwide. While previously there was hardly any access to the platform, visits during the show skyrocket from one moment to the next. The interaction of Frontastic, graphCMS and SHOPMACHER worked smoothly and offered consistently good performance throughout the event.

Result

All in all, hundreds of games from more than 60 major international publishers and developers as well as many other partners with countless videos and live streams were integrated on the gamescom now platform. The entire streaming offer was followed live by 13 million viewers in 2021, an increase of 30 percent compared to the previous year.

The organizers are satisfied. “I’m really excited about how well our digital offering was accepted by the community worldwide again this year,” says Oliver Frese, Managing Director and COO of Koelnmesse. “A lot of heart and soul went into the further development of our shows, our content hub gamescom now and our cooperations from the whole team and the many partners – it paid off. The numbers speak for themselves and we have definitely defended our pole position as a global digital event. This puts us in the best possible starting position to bring the community and the industry together in Cologne and online even more successfully next year with a hybrid gamescom 2022.”

Felix Falk, Managing Director of game – Association of the German Games Industry: “gamescom 2021 relied entirely on the power of the community. Whether co-streams of gamescom: Opening Night Live, joint quests at gamescom EPIX or our fundraising campaign for the gamescom forest: the many shows, campaigns and the central content hub gamescom now were used millions of times by the community worldwide. In addition, this year we have created a particularly large number of interaction options in order to create the incomparable atmosphere of gamescom digitally as well. I am very pleased that gamescom 2021 with its many further developments has been so well received. That makes it a great success for us and all partners involved.”

CHARACTERISTICS

Customer:

gamescom

Result:

Digital trade fair presence

Web:

Developed platform only available during trade fairs

GoLive:

2021

Performance modules:

  • Concept & design

  • Implementation front and backend

  • Technical support during gamescom

Technologies:

  • Content Management: graphCMS
  • Front end: Frontastic
Highlights:
  • Reliable performance despite extreme peaks
  • Independent content maintenance by partners
  • Epic Quests to increase user interaction
Cookie Consent Banner by Real Cookie Banner

gamescom

Case Study

03. Februar 2020

Wie man das reale gamescom-Festival-Erlebnis in eine digitale Erfahrung überträgt

Wenn es um Frontend-Design und digitale Nutzererlebnisse geht, sind Gaming-Fans die vielleicht anspruchsvollste Zielgruppe. Die weltgrößte Computerspielmesse gamescom vertraut bei der Gestaltung ihres digitalen Content-Hubs gamescom now auf die Experten von Frontastic, GraphCMS und SHOPMACHER.
Frontastic

Plattform

GraphCMS

CMS

gegründet

Besucher:innen

Quelle: Koelnmesse / gamescom 2021

Über gamescom

Als zentrale Plattform für die europäische Computer- und Videospielbranche und weltweit größtes Event für interaktive Unterhaltung bringt die gamescom jedes Jahr Industrie, Handel und Medien zusammen. Veranstaltet wird die gamescom vom Verband der deutschen Games-Branche, “game”, und der Koelnmesse.

Herausforderung

Aufgrund der Corona-Krise kann die gamescom seit dem Jahr 2020 nur rein digital stattfinden. Für das Jahr 2021entschieden sich die Veranstalter, die Digitalplattform gamescom now komplett neu aufzusetzen.

Umsetzung

Die gamescom ist keine gewöhnliche Business-Messe, sondern ein Festival, bei dem in Nicht-Corona-Zeiten Hunderttausende von Menschen über die Messe und durch Köln pilgern. Dieses Erlebnis wollte die gamescom ins Internet transferieren. Für Konzept, Design und Umsetzung wurden die SHOPMACHER ins Boot geholt, die am Ende auch die komplette Projektverantwortung übernahmen. Die technische Basis bildeten die Headless-Systeme von graphCMS und Frontastic.

Zugute kam dem Team, dass viele SHOPMACHER-Mitarbeiter in ihrer Freizeit selbst Gamer sind. So konnten sie sich leicht in die Lage der potenziellen gamescom-Fans versetzen und deren Bedürfnisse berücksichtigen. Herausgekommen ist eine Plattform, die im Design an typische Gaming-Plattformen angelehnt ist, neben Livestreams auch eine gute Übersicht über die Spiele liefert und dem hohen visuellen und konzeptionellen Anspruch der Gaming-Community gerecht wird.

Auch die Nutzer selbst sollten durch Gamification-Elemente digital stärker zur Interaktion gebracht werden. Zu diesem Zweck wurde “gamescom EPIX” ins Leben gerufen. Die Besucher konnten im Rahmen von Community-Challenges, die zusammen mit einer Social-Media-Agentur entwickelt wurden, sogenannte Quests erfüllen. Wurden diese geschafft, wurde ein Tresor mit Preisen geöffnet.

Eine wichtige Anforderung der Veranstalter war auch, den vielen auf der Plattform vertretenen Partnern, zu denen auch rund 60 internationale große Publisher und Entwickler gehörten, die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre Inhalte im Vorfeld des Events selbständig zu pflegen. Dabei durften sie natürlich keinen Einblick in die Vorbereitungen ihrer Konkurrenten bekommen, da hier auch streng geheime Informationen über neue Veröffentlichungen eingepflegt wurden. Für die SHOPMACHER war dies ihre eigene “Quest”, weil graphCMS – wie alle anderen CMS-Systeme auch – ursprünglich für die Nutzung innerhalb eines Unternehmens ausgelegt ist, in dem alle Mitarbeitenden auch alles sehen können.

Eine weitere Challenge war es, sicherzustellen, dass die Plattform dem Besucheransturm standhält. Denn die gamescom wird am Vorabend traditionell mit der “gamescom: Opening Night Live” eröffnet, die weltweit an ein Millionenpublikum ausgestrahlt wird. Während es zuvor kaum Zugriffe auf die Plattform gibt, schnellen die Besuche während der Show von einem Augenblick zum nächsten massiv in die Höhe. Das Zusammenspiel aus Frontastic, graphCMS und SHOPMACHER funktionierte reibungslos und bot während des gesamten Events eine konstant sehr gute Performance.

Ergebnis

Insgesamt waren auf der Plattform gamescom now hunderte Spiele der über 60 internationalen großen Publisher und Entwickler sowie vieler weiterer Partner mit zahllosen Videos und Live-Streams eingebunden. Das gesamte Streaming-Angebot verfolgten 2021 13 Millionen Zuschauer live, ein Plus von 30 Prozent gegenüber dem Vorjahr.

Die Veranstalter sind zufrieden. “Ich bin wirklich begeistert, wie gut unser digitales Angebot auch dieses Jahr weltweit wieder von der Community angenommen wurde”, lobt Oliver Frese, Geschäftsführer und COO der Koelnmesse. „In die Weiterentwicklung unserer Shows, unseres Content-Hubs gamescom now und unserer Kooperationen ist viel Herzblut vom ganzen Team und den vielen Partnern geflossen – das hat sich ausgezahlt. Die Zahlen sprechen für sich und wir haben als globales Digital-Event unsere Pole Position definitiv verteidigt. Damit sind wir in der besten Ausgangslage, um im kommenden Jahr mit einer hybriden gamescom 2022 die Community und die Industrie vor Ort in Köln sowie online noch erfolgreicher zusammenzubringen.“

Felix Falk, Geschäftsführer des game – Verband der deutschen Games-Branche: „Die gamescom 2021 hat ganz auf die Kraft der Community gesetzt. Ob Co-Streams der gamescom: Opening Night Live, gemeinsame Quests bei gamescom EPIX oder auch unsere Spendenaktion für den gamescom forest: Die vielen Shows, Aktionen und der zentrale Content Hub gamescom now wurden weltweit millionenfach von der Community genutzt. Zudem haben wir in diesem Jahr besonders viele Interaktionsmöglichkeiten geschaffen, um die unvergleichliche Atmosphäre der gamescom auch digital zu erzeugen. Ich freue mich sehr, dass die gamescom 2021 mit ihren vielen Weiterentwicklungen so gut angekommen ist. Das macht sie zu einem großen Erfolg für uns und alle beteiligten Partner.“

STECKBRIEF

Kunde:

gamescom

Ergebnis:

Digitaler Messeauftritt

Web:

Entwickelte Plattform nur während Messezeit erreichbar

GoLive:

2021

Leistungs-Bausteine:

  • Konzeption & Design

  • Umsetzung Front- und Backend

  • Technischer Support während der gamescom

Technologien:

  • Content Management: graphCMS
  • Frontend: Frontastic
Highlights:
  • Zuverlässige Performance trotz extremer Peaks
  • Eigenständige Content-Pflege durch Partner
  • Epic Quests zur stärkeren Interaktion der Nutzer
× Jetzt chatten!